What I see in you today

I do not care how you look today. Whether you combed your hair. Whether you checked if your T-shirt matches your pants. Whether the leather shoes are shining and new. I do not care if you can’t differentiate between Prada and Chanel, because neither can I. Whether you can pull off playing that Michael Nyman piece on the piano without missing a note, although that would awe me with its beauty. I don’t care if you trip a lot, make things fall and are generally awkward.

I do care how you speak today. Whether you can make me listen. Whether your eyes match the words you mouth. Whether you can perceive this world in a new way. I do care whether you can see the greys without always differentiating everything into black and white. Whether you stop, for a moment at least, to breathe in the earth just after it rains. Whether, regardless of how you dance, you can make me dance with you, however awkwardly. I do care whether you read, listen, make things happen and are generally something different.

That is what makes you my friend.

14 thoughts on “What I see in you today

  1. “I do care whether you can see the greys without always differentiating everything into black and white”
    touched me deep and strong. and yes… that is what should make a friend…

  2. ” I do care whether you read, listen, make things happen and are generally something different” ….. found this the best as is exactly how i define ‘friend’ ;P …..also like kirti said, loved that part too…… :)

  3. “Whether you can pull off playing that Michael Nyman piece on the piano without missing a note, although that would awe me with its beauty.”

    That line has such beauty to it!

    I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog. Keep writing…you’re a wonderful writer.

Leave a Reply

